We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Mikey Collins

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £1 GBP  or more

    You own this


Waste 03:48


Following the release of his debut solo album Hoick earlier this year, ex-Allo Darlin’ drummer Mikey Collins announces a series of remixes, which will appear over two EPs. Guest remixers include Johnny Winfield, Nicholas de Carlo, James Yuill, Jolyon Thomas, Ghost Culture and Ian Button (Death In Vegas/Papernut Cambridge).

As Mikey explains; “I've always loved a remix. I remember buying singles in the 90s and loving the re-imagining of an original track into a whole new piece of art – sometimes more exciting that the original. Some were a bit crap, sure, but – good ones – have never really felt like 'just sticking a beat over the top' to me. I think it's fascinating seeing what other producers make of the same set of stems / lyrics / flow and taking a few elements to turn it into something that has a life of its own. Like watching your kid grow up or something! So, I always knew I wanted to try and get some remixes of the Hoick songs if possible. I gave every artist the option of which tune they would like to remix.”

The second EP features a brand new track called “Waste”, which Mikey loved but it didn’t quite make it on to the main record. The other tracks included are “Home Bird” and “Side By Side” (both remixed by Johnny Whinfield again) and “Sound In Here” was remixed by Ian Button, who is the drummer in Mikey’s live band but has also been in countless bands including Death In Vegas, Thrashing Doves, GoKart Mozart and many, many more. There’s also a remix of “Something To Lose” by Nicholas de Carlo, which he renamed “A Heart”. Nicholas is a music producer and arranger who worked as a composer in Berlin for many years and recently relocated to Ramsgate, where Mikey lives and they have collaborated on a few projects together.

Hoick is the solo album from Allo Darlin’ drummer Mikey Collins, who combines his love of rhythm and joyous harmonies to create a fun and sonically varied record. He is joined by a crack-team of musicians including drummer Ian Button (Death In Vegas, Papernut Cambridge), Tom Parkinson on bass, Tigercats’ Laura Kovic on keyboards and vocals, as well as fellow former Allo Darlin’ member and lifelong friend, guitar maestro Paul Rains. The flicker of his previous band pervades much of the album, as Collins draws inspiration from the upbeat nature of their music but he also gives it his own spin, as well as gleaning influences from other sources including Dexy’s Midnight Runners, The Rolling Stones and current artists such as Matthew E White and Night Works.


released January 11, 2019


all rights reserved



Fika Recordings UK

Welcome to Fika Recordings! We're a London based DIY record label, releasing glorious indiepop, folk and more...


contact / help

Contact Fika Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account